The danger of the dinner party

I have just had a conversation with a friend about the danger of the dinner party to the fertility fighter. She happily has a daughter as a result of a struggle with fertility and a successful round of IVF, but subsequent rounds, to produce a much hoped for sibling have left her without a second child and with a mountain of IVF debt. As she rightly says, it is rather like being a gambler, who is lured by a glimmer of hope,  and puts thousands on Hearts, knowing nonetheless, that the odds are stacked against them…

Here is something that she heard at a recent dinner party, full of floaty fertile types:

‘I think that having only one child is tantamount to child abuse’.

Mmmm. I think that I would have exploded. Here is something that I was subjected to:

‘They say that the gap between one and two, is less bad than the gap between none and one’.

And another, from an otherwise supposedly intelligent set of people….:

‘IVF babies look a bit wierd compared to other babies’

‘Yes, and they are more likely to be homosexual’

‘And of course, they can’t reproduce which is sad’

!!!

I honestly wouldn’t wish the sorts of struggles that I and my fellow fertility fighters have experienced, on anyone, and am glad that lots of people can drift through fertility as a granted, albeit some of them smoking, drinking, running marathons and the like…. But I do wish that those who can, could just think a little bit about those who can’t, before they open their mouths and put their great big insensitive and misdirected feet in it.

 

4 comments on “The danger of the dinner party

  1. Irene says:

    Wauw… and I thought I had heard it all… The ignorance and lack of empathy out there is staggering!

    • Bachelor's Button says:

      I know, bonkers eh? We both bit our tongues (apart from with the utter ignorance from degree-educated folk which made me laugh out loud at the time!) as people on these occasions didn’t know our stories. I don’t think that we can expect people who find it easy to have children to really understand, so although a bit shocking, I cant ‘blame them’ for their naivity, but it would be nice if people did think before speaking about the rights and wrongs of aspects of fertility just in case there is someone present who has struggled to get there!

  2. msfertility says:

    I’ve never heard of anything like that! Are you kidding me?! lol I really wonder if I could keep my composure if I heard comments of that nature. And you say these are educated people???

    • Bachelor's Button says:

      I know, shocking huh? Amazing what a glass or two of wine mixed with a good dose of ignorance can produce!

Leave a comment