Managing other people’s expectations and kindly meant views

I don’t know whether any other fertility fighters find it tough managing other people’s expectations?

When our little boy arrived prematurely in 2008 we were surprised at how exhausting it was, trying to look after the feelings of those around us as well as trying to focus on the survival of our son. With hindsight we should have just focused on our little boy and hardened our hearts to the concerns of those around us.

Yet again we find ourselves in this position. My little girl is still, miraculously, alive. She really shouldn’t be because of the IUGR reverse flow which has now continued for over 12 days. It could be days, it could be hours til she passes in utero. I am having some sharp pains which I really hope aren’t to do with her passing or being in distress.

The day after we found out that she will die, my parents were off on a much awaited long haul holiday to visit family. I knew how much they were looking forward to the trip and how it would ruin their holiday if they knew the truth, that they may even feel the need to cut their holiday short, so we grinned our way through a quick pre-departure visit from them, told them that she is very small and struggling, and have continued with this story in subsequent email and skype conversations. She is still alive, so we aren’t lying in this respect.

We then felt that it would be wrong for the rest of family and friends to know the truth when they didn’t, so have also told everyone, bar a couple of very close friends who understand the fertility struggle, that she is very small and struggling. In many ways we realise that this will make it easier to tell them when she does die as the seed of possibility has been planted and it will be less brutal for them than going directly from ‘ we are having twins, one boy, one girl‘ to ‘one of our babies has died’.  But managing other people’s expectations is tiring.

It is also tough listening to people telling us ‘ just stay strong, she will make it’ or ‘doctors can be wrong’ or ‘twins are never the same size anyway’, to which I respond respctively, ‘well she may not’, ‘I think that the doctors are pretty competent and know what is happening’ and ‘but she is only the size of a 21 week old baby, which isn’t right’. I understand that everyone is trying to be positive for us and that we know the reality, but it would be easier if they could read between the lines a little more.

Those however, who do read between the lines, can say some fairly astonishing things, although I have to regularly remind myself that 99% of them (happily) just dont and cant understand the fertility battle, or loss of a child… Three people have thus far said:

 ‘Well at least if you lose her you will still have him’

Is it just me, or is this a really odd thing to say? I can see that again they are trying to focus on the positive, but this twin pregnancy is not some sort of lucky dip! I physically feel, and totally love, both of my babies. Losing one baby will not be made just dandy by retaining the other. At 26 weeks and 3 days, I am an expectant mother of twins and neither of them is disposable. This is not just the ruthless pursuit of a baby whatever the consequences. I hope of course that he makes it, and that I get to really enjoy motherhood, but there will now always be a gap, just as there is with the premature baby that I lost three years ago.

Other people eh?

6 comments on “Managing other people’s expectations and kindly meant views

  1. Irene says:

    I think sometimes people just don’t have a lot of empathy. Maybe they try their best and mean well and all that, but they just don’t understand what it is like what you are going through. Of course non of us can truly understand the full extent of it unless we have experienced loosing a baby ourselves. Even experiencing infertility as in our case is not the same as what you have experienced with your previous loss and are experiencing now.

    Look after yourself first and foremost. And talk to the people who have the most empathy to get support. It must be such a difficult time, I can’t even imagine. It must be absolutely exhausting to live in this limbo where she is still alive, but you know there is no hope. And you can’t tell the truth about it yet or really grieve.

    Sending you lots of thoughts!!

    • Bachelor's Button says:

      Thanks Irene. I really value your support and so hope that all is going beautifully for you.

      I am feeling strangely calm at the moment and trying to keep busy as things progress. You are right, (obviously very empathetic!) that we can’t properly grieve yet which is strange. In a way, although obviously I would rather not lose her, I feel that I want to have enough time between losing her and delivering him (all being well), so that I have grieved properly, accepted the situation, and can then really enjoy his arrival and being a mum.

      • Irene says:

        You’re welcome! I have been thinking about you a lot! And will continue to do so. It seems to me that it’s good that you are reacting with ‘strangely calm’ rather than losing it altogether and falling apart. Which, considering the situation and all the mixed feelings you are ‘caught’ in, would not be strange.

        Things are well with me. The morning sickness has started to ease off in the sense that I’m not throwing up anymore and that is a relief. The nausea is still there, but it is more manageable. And then we are just counting down the days for the NT scan which is on Monday.

      • Bachelor's Button says:

        Glad to hear that the morning sickness is easing up. Hope that the NT scan goes well – it is rather a lovely opportunity to see the little person again and amazing how quickly, since your last scan, they become baby like…

        I am in heartburn phase now – largely because I have a 44 inch girth now and there is just no space for food!!! That is what twins do to you I guess! Milk seems to be a good antidote as do peppermints. Hoping all goes well on Monday and thank you for your kindness again. I think these blogs are a great mutual well wishing and support forum!

  2. msfertility says:

    In my experience, even people who love you & care about you a great deal will often say the wrong thing. Sometimes it’s out of sheer stupidity (like my mom after my miscarriage telling me that she thought I probably lost the baby because my husband doesn’t really want children!) and sometimes – I think more often than not – they really have no idea on earth what to actually say. They want to make it better because that is the compulsion of our society — to shun all bad feelings. However, this misses the crucial step of acknowledging the pain and honoring it. Just know that they have no clue what they’re saying – but they’re trying to help – and maybe you can just appreciate the intention and delete the actual words they use? Hugs!

    • Bachelor's Button says:

      You are absolutely right. We can’t expect those who haven’t had experiences like ours to be able to relate completely. People mean kindly, even if the words aren’t necessarily put together in the right way…

Leave a comment